Fall Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins

Today, I ended up with a free afternoon so I decided why not indulge in our favorite fall flavor, pumpkin. My typical diet consists of few grainy carbohydrates and little to no sugar, so this fall has been dreadful with all of the delicious pumpkin flavored foods calling my name. I’ve found that most sugars, simple carbohydrates, and overload on gluten-free baked products sabotage my energy and make me feel sluggish. It’s also very difficult to find gluten-free (let alone sugar-free) pumpkin items; so I’ve had to opt out, and miss out on the delicious indulgence.

Needless to say, I was beyond excited to create my own pumpkin modification to satisfy my craving while still obeying my diet concerns. I’m almost completely positive that this can be considered healthy.


Allergen Content

  • Gluten-Free
  • Wheat-Free
  • Egg-Free
  • Sugar-Free (No Sugar added, although some of the ingredients like milk, pumpkin, and muffin mix contain small amounts of sugar)

 So delicious that I couldn’t wait to try one. Oops 🙂

I decided to use the traditional muffin recipe from Pamela’s using their Baking & Pancake Mix, with a few modifications. Pamela’s has several other delicious gluten-free recipes, especially pumpkin recipes! All of the ingredients I used are organic or non-gmo.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix
  • 1/2 cup melted pure, grass-fed butter (any butter or oil will do, I used this as the purest & healthiest form of butter)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (any milk will do)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Egg Replacer (or 1 egg)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup SugaVida (or 1/2 cup. 1/4 cup SugaVida= 1/2 cup sugar. I added 1/2 cup SugaVida to also sweeten the pumpkin and satisfy my sweet tooth)
  • About 15 drops of Vanilla Stevia Sweetener Drops
  • 1 can (16 oz) solid packed Pumpkin

Ingredient Modifications

  • Any muffin mix may be used. I used Pamela’s gluten-free mix due to gluten intolerance.
  • Any milk alternatives may be used for allergy sake. I used almond milk because I often have issues with milk lactose & it’s sweet.
  • Eggs may be used. I used egg replacer because I have an egg intolerance.
  • Any butter may be used. I used Kerrygold’s pure grass-fed butter as the purest and healthier form of butter; and it’s a healthy fat! Other butters and most oils are converted to body fat. This time of butter promotes hormone and metabolism function, and is used for energy instead of being stored as fat.
  • Any sugar may be used. I used SugaVida and Stevia as a natural, no sugar sweetener because of sugar/candida issues. Switching to sugar-free (or low sugar diet) has so many energy-promoting and revitalizing benefits!
  • Use pure pumpkin for pumpkin flavoring! Spices and pumpkin nuts can be added for an extra flavor kick!

Directions

  • Set oven to 350 degrees
  • Use a large bowl, add dry ingredients, and mix
  • Add milk and butter (wet ingredients) to the bowl, and mix
  • Add pumpkin to the bowl, and mix
  • Fill muffin tin 1/2-3/4 full
  • Bake for 30-40 min (depending on oven strength) use a fork or pin to stick into the muffins. If anything sticks, the muffins need cooked longer. If nothing sticks, the muffins are done!

   Enjoy! Let me know if anyone tries this recipe- or what other modifications and additions are added to your recipe 🙂

One response to “Fall Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

